Australian Academy of Science 2017 Selby Fellow

  • Fellowships are awarded annually to distinguished overseas scientists to visit Australia. It is intended that public awareness of science and scientific issues is raised through a series of public lectures and seminars. The Foundation congratulates and acknowledges the valuable work undertaken by the 2016 Selby Fellow.

    img The Australian Academy of Science
  • Professor Xi-Cheng Zhang

    Professor and Director of Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique, Énergie, Matériaux et Télécommunications, Université du Québec
    Awarded on 25/08/2015

    The Institute of Optics, University of Rochester, Rochester, NY 12627-0186 USAXi-Cheng Zhang is the Director and M. Parker Givens Professor at The Institute of Optics, University of Rochester. A Fellow of AAAS, APS, IEEE, OSA, and SPIE, his recent awards include 2014 International Society of IRMMW-THz Button Prize; 2012 OSA William F. Meggers Award; 2011 IEEE Photonics Society William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award; and 2009 Rensselaer William H. Wiley Award. He holds 14 professorships in foreign countries, 29 US patents, has authored or co-authored over 400 refereed scientific papers, and has an h-index of 78. Dr. Zhang is the Editor-in-Chief of Optics Letters and has served as Director at Large of OSA since 2014.

    Dr. Zhang was the Eric Jonsson Professor of Science; Acting Head at the Department of Physics, Applied Physics and Astronomy; and Founding Director of the Center for THz Research at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. With a BS (‘82) from Peking University, he earned his PhD (‘86) from Brown University, RI.  He is a pioneer in world-leading research in the field of ultrafast laser-based terahertz technology and optical physics,

    Back to Top
    img 2017 Selby Fellow Xi-Cheng-Zhang.jpg